Last updated: August 29. 2013 2:16PM - 968 Views
Tony Brown For The Union Daily Times

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

UNION COUNTY — With IHRA Ironman trophies on the line, as well as the 2013 championships, drivers from several states descended upon Union County Dragway last weekend to do battle. By the end of the event, three champions made their way to final rounds to clinch a year long fight for the right to be labeled the best of 2013.

In the Pro division, Saturday saw eventual second in points Camaro driver Eric Martin take the win over dragster driver, Allen Ford. On Sunday, Everett Short drove his mid four second dragster to the win over eventual track champion Dennis Calvert. Modified Eliminator was just as exciting with Randy Armstrong taking the win Saturday over Mustang driver Ralph DeLoach. Sunday’s event winner just happened to be the 2013 Union track champion, Jay Norris. He scored the win when Kershaw’s Jeff Knight left on a red light start.

Perhaps the most exciting battle was amongst the young drivers in the Junior Dragster field. With over 20 drivers each day in the hunt, wins were going to be earned the hard way. Britt Sinclair clinched the championship with a big win on Saturday over a very game Hunter Carter in the final round. On Sunday, it was Concord, N.C.’s Ethan Bickford taking the win over the always tough Clint Gordon.

The featured categories on Saturday included some of the best clutch operated, wheel standing, manual transmission drivers from the Southeast in the Gearjammer and Stick & Slick classes. Josh Barley shifted the gears in his low six-second Chevy II Nova to the win over Mustang driver Kevin Pegg in the Gearjammer final. Kentucky driver Ricky Duncan returned to the Palmetto state to take the Stick and Slick win over Josh Freitas.

The top 16 Pro drivers, the top 16 Modified drivers and the top eight Junior Dragster drivers have now earned the right to represent Union County Dragway at the IHRA Division 2 East bracket finals in September held at Carolina Dragway in Aiken, S.C. For these dedicated racers, the uncharacteristically wet summer has made for an extended points season, but the Union County Dragway team will be ready for the challenge. Full results are below:

Saturday, August 24

Pro Division

Win — Eric Martin (Camaro)

R/up — Allen Ford (Dragster)

Modified Division

Win — Randy Armstrong (Chevy)

R/up — Ralph DeLoach (Mustang)

Junior Dragster

Win — Britt Sinclair

R/up — Hunter Carter


Win — Josh Barley (Chevy II Nova)

R/up — Kevin Pegg (Mustang)

Stick & Slick

Win — Ricky Duncan (Corvette)

R/up — Josh Freitas (Mustang)

Sunday, August 25

Pro Division

Win — Everett Short (Dragster)

R/up — Dennis Calvert (Chrysler)

Modified Division

Win — Jay Norris (Dodge Aspen)

R/up — Jeff Knight (Camaro)

Junior Dragster

Win — Ethan Bickford

R/up — Clint Gordon

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Union Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com