FSA County Committee elections begin Nov. 4

October 31, 2013

SPARTANBURG — Glenn Thomas, County Executive Director of the Spartanburg/Union/Cherokee Farm Service Agency (FSA), announced that ballots for the 2013 FSA County Committee elections will be mailed to eligible voters in Union County (Local Administrative Area #3) beginning Nov. 4, 2013 as they will be electing an area farmer to represent them on the Spartanburg/Union/Cherokee County Committee for the next three years.

“The FSA County Committee system is unique among government agencies, because it allows producers to make important decisions concerning the local administration of federal farm programs,” said Mr. Thomas. “FSA encourages all eligible farmers and ranchers, to get involved and make a real difference in their communities by voting in this year’s elections.” “Your vote is important.”

Committee members apply their knowledge and judgment to make decisions on disaster and conservation payments, establishment of allotments and yields, producer appeals, employing FSA county executive directors and other local issues. FSA Committees operate within official regulations designed to carry out federal laws.

To be an eligible voter, farmers and ranchers must participate or cooperate in FSA programs. A person who is not of legal voting age, but supervises and conducts the farming operations of an entire farm, can also vote. Agricultural producers in Union County were encouraged to submit eligible candidate names during the nomination period held this past summer. The candidate on the ballot this year is:

Guy Michael Scales — a livestock, poultry and hay producer from Jonesville.

Eligible voters who do not receive ballots in the coming week can obtain ballots at their local USDA Service Center. Dec. 2, 2013 is the last day for voters to submit ballots in person to local USDA Service Centers. Ballots returned by mail must be postmarked no later than December 2nd.

The Spartanburg/Union/Cherokee County FSA Committee will tabulate votes on Dec. 4, 2013 at 10 a.m. in the Spartanburg/Union/Cherokee County FSA Office. Newly elected committee members and alternates take office Jan. 1, 2014.

The FSA Office is located in the USDA Service Center at 105 Corporate Dr., Suite G in Spartanburg. Any persons wanting to attend the ballot count who need special accommodations should contact Glenn Thomas at (864) 814-2471, extension 2, as soon as possible. For more information about FSA County Committees and FSA programs, visit our website at: http://www.fsa.usda.gov.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (866) 632-9992 (Toll-free Customer Service), (800) 877-8339 (Local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).